Bizarro Christianity—It’s Much Worse Than You Think (Part 2)

         Regarding Unreal Christianity and the identification of its various elements, I decided when I first started writing on the subject that I would not name names. 

         For one thing, there are far too many names. For another, unless one names all, it appears one may be singling out some and not mentioning others. Such an approach could portray a possible bias or improper agenda. Also, we don’t want to fall into the trap of picking the splinter out of our brother’s eye while having a tree trunk stuck in our own.

         It is therefore my position that, like anything else, we must each figure it out for ourselves through the Lord’s leading—the Word of God reveals truth—and draw our own conclusions. Otherwise, we run the risk of being uninformed, a willing dupe, or the victim of religious dogma.

         The reasoning here is simple and straightforward—we will each face the Lord alone as self-governing individuals at the judgment, so it’s best to live as self-governing individuals in this life. This is exactly what being a disciple of the Lord entails.

         Like a complex, drawn-out math problem, we must all understand how we arrived at a particular answer and doctrinal position instead of simply parroting a response, robot-like, and end up believing a sanctioned, authoritative conclusion possibly unsupported by actual fact. If not, we may possess a religious conviction based on prejudice, false assumptions, or cultural preconceived notions.

         So even though I don’t name names, it should not be all that difficult to identify the pretenders and their groups once a disciple gains a complete, pure, and impartial knowledge of the Lord’s teachings, and a mature understanding of His Word. Unlike in His time, when the religious shysters were relatively easy to recognize (and the Lord did identify groups), it is much different at present. There are quantum scads of Christian groups, denominations, and cults, major and minor, and they all claim legitimacy. Yet their doctrines often contradict one another. They cannot all be right, but it’s possible they can all be wrong.

         Regardless of my position, however, many ministries and individuals do name names, and this might or might not be what the Lord desires. I therefore do not necessarily fault those who do, as it may be by the Lord’s will.

         I do admonish each and every one of us, however, to start checking up on things and getting informed, or staying informed, even more than we have been, because the level of deception is rising rapidly like a rocket up the right side of an exponential curve.

         Inform yourself. Read and study. You will be amazed at what you find. It is often shocking. Remember what happened in the late 1980’s with all the Christian scandals? It is much worse than that. There is no comparison. Currently, a far-reaching, behind-the-scenes skullduggery, a plot designed to both deceive and control, has infiltrated many Christian circles, impacting the salvation of souls. It has slimed its way in largely unnoticed by millions.

         This present wave, like all the others over the last two millennia, has effectively established yet another fake Christian subculture. Its unique thought bomb, detonated high in the atmosphere, has resulted in still more radioactive fallout spreading over the landscape, infecting who it may. Consider this article yet another warning.

          Beloved, when I gave all diligence to write unto you of the common salvation, it was needful for me to write unto you, and exhort you that ye should earnestly contend for the faith which was once delivered unto the saints.

          For there are certain men crept in unawares, who were before of old ordained to this condemnation, ungodly men, turning the grace of our God into lasciviousness, and denying the only Lord God, and our Lord Jesus Christ. [Jude 1:3-4 KJV]

         The establishment of false forms of Christianity, contrary gospels, and acceptance of a “sin in the camp” immorality, deceptively portrayed as “God-approved,” have happened because Christians in general got lazy, ignorant, and complacent.  Christians traditionally have been conditioned to obey their authority figures and never question them, even though such a thing is demonic and not at all Biblical. It’s a clear form of idolatry.

         As a result, some real Christians became weak and Unreal Christians established a major beachhead of unbelief and disobedience. They did not stay STRONG and AWARE of the enemy. Instead of following the Lord they took a pass, laid down, and chose to hire hirelings and pay them to do their work, many of whom fled spiritually when the wolves showed up.

         Currently, such people are a many times worse. Now, if a believer were to express clear Biblical teachings he will often be shot down by such “Christians” who claim the Lord’s teachings are wrong, while their completely unsupportable false doctrines are perceived as correct. Most of the time though, they just close their minds and continue to be led blindly down the path by their chosen blind and diabolical leaders who look exactly like sheep, but are actually wolves in sheep’s clothing. Sound familiar?

         False content has also invaded your friendly neighborhood Christian bookstore. Many books are not even Christian. They appear to be Christian. They may be Christian on the surface. But books that are purely Christian simply do not sell so well. If you don’t think this is true I challenge you to research this on your own. You will then understand why the real Christians in this country are getting the Word out without a profit motive.

         Many Christian bookstores have been taken over by corporate interests with a money mentality, instead of a Godly motive and purely spiritual initiative. The priority is monetary profit (mammon). Real Christians, conversely, are engaging in ministry for free because it is the only way it can be done properly and effectively, without the compromises based on the pursuit of profit or the seeking and/or protecting of one’s income. Ministering for free is how it was done by the Lord and the originals:

          “Freely you received, freely give.” [Matthew 10:8]

         But Peter said, “I do not possess silver and gold, but what I do have I give to you: In the name of Jesus Christ the Nazarene—walk!” [Acts 3:6]

         “I have coveted no one’s silver or gold or clothes. You yourselves know that these hands ministered to my own needs and to the men who were with me.” [Acts 20:33-34]

          Incidentally, the reason I attempt to sell a few books is so I can spend more time writing and sharing what the Lord is giving me, and less time working for money. So far, that has not worked out so well. I have given many books away but have learned that most people who get a free book do not read it. We are more likely to read it if we invest in it. I would have been financially better off by never making my work available, but I am compelled to share what I receive. Thus, I have two fulltime jobs. One is doing the work the Lord has called me to do and the other is earning money so I can do the work the Lord has called me to do.

         Rather than take donations, I prefer to offer a commodity. I have put in decades of research and work into my books and writings and am currently offering a 330 page book filled with exactly what some need at this time for low cost. I have made it as easily available as possible. Thanks to those of you who have read the book and read my articles. I hope they’re a blessing.

         But if I wrote some watered-down stuff and got seriously promoted I would most likely do much better financially. Several best-selling “Christian” books have sold millions recently and have been proven to contain anti-Biblical content, some of it incredibly obvious. This proves my point that many Christians are easily manipulated into untruth and most don’t even know they have been deceived. This is why major promoters don’t want the truth. Neither do any of the major “Christian” institutions.

          It’s not necessarily that they can’t handle the truth; it’s that the truth in general does not sell, nor does it fill pews with the necessary backsides and tithe money.

         Perhaps this is why the Lord only managed to gather a mere 120 people for the original Upper Room Experience.

         Keep in mind, the Lord Jesus was not some podunk rambling rabbi, but GOD. He had preached to tens of thousands at a time. He did every major miracle you can imagine, preached powerfully, taught a perfect and pure message, and then, amazingly, offered Himself up as a perfect sacrifice on our behalf, and ROSE FROM THE DEAD.

         AND HE STILL ONLY MANAGED TO CONVINCE A MERE 120 PEOPLE TO GO TO THE UPPER ROOM FOR TEN DAYS AND AWAIT PENTECOST!

         That’s astonishing, especially in light of today’s easy-believism.

         Today’s marketers could get 120 in five minutes. Many of today’s churches could gather 120 anytime they felt like it, no matter how non-Biblical they are.

         But 120 of one is in no way comparable to 120 of another. The Lord’s 120 were solid as a rock, just like Him. They were willing to do anything and follow Him anywhere, which they did. They served as a solid nucleus for a growing community that had the truth and kept it, had the power of God and used it, and had the love of God and expressed it.

          THEY TURNED THE ENTIRE BLASTED HEATHEN WORLD UPSIDE DOWN! THEY OVERCAME MURDEROUS AND HOSTILE RELIGIOUS HATERS AND THE WORST AND MOST BRUTAL GOVERNMENT THAT HAD EVER EXISTED ON THE PLANET! THEIR ORIGINAL TINY KINGDOM, WITH NONE OF THE NATURAL ELEMENTS NEEDED FOR KINGDOM BUILDING, OVERCAME THE ROMAN EMPIRE!

          Most “Christians” in America can’t even overcome themselves.

          Even so, real Christians in America number in the millions. The fact that George Orwell’s Nineteen Eighty-Four bizarro world has not arrived completely is due to their presence. The antichrist spirit hates them with a passion. They are the salt and light that keeps him from taking over completely. For these real Christians, no fight is too hard or too impossible. They know they fight alongside the King of kings. They will not be dismayed or defeated. Kill one and a hundred more spring up. They always rise to the occasion. They can do ALL things through Messiah who strengthens them. And they do it with a smile and a good attitude with love in their hearts.

          So even though things are worse than we think, THEY ARE ALSO BETTER THAN WE THINK. It is because the Lord Jesus is in charge. It is because He has created a giant worldwide community of people with each individual just like Him in some way, and the entire community pretty much exactly like Him overall.

          If others want to join hands with the enemy, compromise the Word, and love money to the point of rejecting the Lord though insisting they have not, they can do what they want and be as deceived as they want. But unless you identify them and stand against them you may be deceived as well.

          The mark of a real Christian is standing up for the Lord Jesus no matter the cost, being willing to fight the enemy no matter the level of battle, and submit your reputations to be trashed by ignorant and deceived people while not lashing back with reciprocal hate but returning spiritual love.

          Many years ago the first pastor I had made a statement I will never forget. He said he had people come up to him and say they loved him, but might as well of said they hated him because it was obvious such hate was in their heart and on their outward expression. Unreal Christians are notorious for this. It’s called being two-faced. It’s the mark of duplicity. It’s acting one way in one’s presence and ripping him or her to shreds behind their back. It is a total violation of the Lord’s love and teachings.

          In the end, the good and bad will be completely separated, but the point must be made that this will not happen automatically at His arrival. The separation of light and darkness has actually been taking place for 2000 years and will culminate at the end when the Lord returns for a spotless community of love with total honor for Him. In the meantime, one better choose the right side with all their heart or one will end up on the wrong side, most likely with a deceived and divided heart.

          “Therefore everyone who hears these words of Mine and acts on them, may be compared to a wise man who built his house on the rock. And the rain fell, and the floods came, and the winds blew and slammed against that house; and yet it did not fall, for it had been founded on the rock.

          “Everyone who hears these words of Mine and does not act on them, will be like a foolish man who built his house on the sand. The rain fell, and the floods came, and the winds blew and slammed against that house; and it fell—and great was its fall.” [Matthew 7:24-27] [1]

          © 2014 by RJ Dawson. All Rights Reserved.


[1] Unless otherwise noted all Scriptures are taken from the New American Standard Bible, © 1960, 1963, 1968, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1975, 1977, 1995 by The Lockman Foundation. Used by permission.

Posted on March 31, 2014, in Current Events and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. RJ, I chuckled when you said, in essence, that real Christian books don’t sell well. George and I are in the same boat and also need to be bivocational so that we can be and do what God has for us to be and do. I consider it a small price to pay for sharing God’s absolute truth. Are we what you call real Christians? Oh, yeah!

    Like

    • Right on. Thanks for the comment. I appreciate y’all and your work. You are having an impact in ministry for others. And I agree that anything and everything we must do in this life is a very small price to pay to fulfill our callings for Him.

      The Lord showed us very clearly how it works by the way things transpired in His own life and according to prophecy:

      He lived in complete obscurity for almost His entire life. No one except His parents really knew who He was, or cared. When He started His ministry, He is noticed for what appeared to be a miracle (they reserved judgment). But mainly, the people started noticing He did ministry different, and He certainly preached different. The people were intrigued, the religious leaders concerned. He gained in popularity not because of His person but His works. He certainly seemed to be the One they were looking for. The religious leaders grew incensed because almost everything He did was different than their traditional method. They saw the works. Couldn’t deny them. But denied HIM because He had the audacity to reveal their dead religious self-serving practices.

      SOUND FAMILIAR?

      I will stop here because I could write a book. Suffice it to say He started small and insignificant, and first fulfilled prophecy as the “Son of Joseph” Messiah, the Suffering Servant, which no one was looking for or wanted. When He returns soon, He will come as the “Son of David” Messiah, the CONQUERING KING.

      So, real Christians follow the same track. Though there is an obvious born again experience, they start out small, obscure, rejected, insignificant, unworthy, misunderstood, having to make their own way, etc. In time, after many years, through their perseverance, dedication, and discipleship, they slowly grow in strength and effectiveness. People are very slow to accept them no matter how good their record or accomplishments may be.

      But in time…

      Like

  2. AMEN! “OUTSTANDING” post RJ!!! I love how you know just what to write at the very time I need to read it.

    As someone who has had to take a chainsaw to the tree trunk stuck in her own eye, I am in no position to throw stones at anyone else’s tree either. 😉 But, there must be some reason why the Lord gave me Matthew 24:24, 24:33 and told me to stand & proclaim it. And as of recent… “See then that you walk circumspectly, not as fools but as wise, redeeming the time, because the days are evil.” [Ephesians 5:15-16]
    When I have been approached by people who ask me what I thought about so & so at church [or this elder at that church], I would respond with “If you have to ask… you probably [& hopefully] already know the answer.”

    And I really enjoyed this part [seeing how it is the opposite of what I’ve been told, but in unison to what I believe]… “It is therefore my position that, like anything else, we must each figure it out for ourselves through the Lord’s leading—the Word of God reveals truth—and draw our own conclusions.” … Honestly, would we trust it if we did or heard it any other way? I know I wouldn’t… now anyway. Proverbs 3:5 & 6 states it pretty clearly to me- ‘Trust in THE LORD with all your heart, and lean not on your own [or any other human’s- including pastors, spiritual leaders, or big selling authors 😉 ] understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him & He will make your path straight.’ I have not found it in the Holy Bible anywhere that I am to trust everybody. Love… YES! Trust… not so much! Yes, I’ve been burned too many times, but I don’t think it is just that. Jesus loves us this I know… but He never said He trusted us, quite the contrary- He knew not to. Even when we don’t desire to, we all fall down. If I know this going in, I am less disappointed at the outcome.

    Oooh, and another one… “The reasoning here is simple and straightforward—we will each face the Lord alone as self-governing individuals at the judgment, so it’s best to live as self-governing individuals in this life. This is exactly what being a disciple of the Lord entails.” … This is PERFECT! I have been saying this for years to anyone [including a full congregation] that would listen. I think it happens more often with women then men, because women are placed [voluntarily & involuntarily] in that position to start with. I have observed many who feel dismissed or are perfectly content playing the clean-up batter, so they don’t have to be upfront or first. I see women far too often live in the shadows of their husband’s faith. [That logic didn’t work so well for the wives and children of the men who devilishly pushed Daniel into the lion’s den.]

    I have even told my kids that I can’t pray them into Heaven. If I could I would. They have to have their own relationship with Jesus [love affair], read His Word, pray, seek Him first, and share all the testimonies He shares with them- from the beginning. I do feel it imperative that I continually keep my own eyes focused on the Lord so that anyone coming along side of me or following, will share the same upward gaze and destination… “Jesus” in Heaven.

    As I said before, I’ve got nowhere to go for throwing stones, but I’ve fallen into the trap of the “Church Game” myself- five years ago this April. Today being the first day, I guess this makes me the April Fool. It is a very long story and at the risk of name-calling, I best not share here. It is better suited for that book I’ve committed to write, that will most likely end up on a blog that I will share for free. I say a book I’m committed to write, but I’m not at all sure now that it was suppose to be a book. I experience things everyday with God- that make for a potential post. So the blog concept seems to be more realistic.

    God told me years ago to build a website – a “phishnet” or “lighthouse”. [Funny thing, of recent I am feeling the need for a “storehouse”.] I don’t recall Him ever actually saying “book”, but the book would allow me anonymity and freedom to write and not hurt / offend anyone, or get sued. [I would publish it under a different name.]

    At this point I don’t care which it is as long as it’s something about me with Him. I personally know what it is like to feel overwhelmed and irresponsible when I can’t share out loud what my heart would so love to… to open the blinds and let everyone see both in and out. I am eager to give it away, but my dilemma is, I have no audience to give it to.

    I think you are right to offer “at a low cost” vs. “free” for your EXCELLENT work. I have a friend who owns a vintage jewelry business that I would help from time to time. She takes flatware and transforms them into jewelry, wind chimes, etc. I would often refer to these pieces as “The Served with Love series”. She is very talented! She is also a Christian and sets her pricing as low as possible. People have questioned why she sells her merchandise for so much less then her competitors. I think some have found it unbelievable, that they set its value based on the price. For her, the saving grace is that her product is so beautiful, unique, and well-made, that the ones who “get it” are blessed to possess it. She has a great repeat business.

    I use to make jewelry also, using PMC [Precious Metal Clay]. It is clay that once rolled, molded, shaped [often fingerprinted], dried, fired in a kiln, wire brushed, filed, drilled, tumbled, brushed & cleaned again [some of it is also oxidized]… becomes 99.9% Fine Silver. The purest form of silver this side of Heaven. I never used molds for the fingerprint charms- only finger to the clay. It was all authentic and at the very least, the fingerprinting, shaping, and drying took place on site- at their homes. People made their own charms, necklaces, pendants, etc. I had performed this for baby shower gifts, Mother’s Day, Christmas, etc.– on newborn and the not so young alike. And all this led up to one of the most blessed moments in my life. I made memorial charms and necklaces for the loved ones of the dearly departed. Sounds like a real money maker [and a little creepy], right? Nope! [Remember, I said they were memorials.] But, I don’t think I have done anything that has felt that honorable [with the exception of having my babies] in my whole life. One of these testimonies will be in the book/blog. 😀

    I sincerely would love to just bless people and give it away. [I’ve prayed to the Lord that He would bless me indeed so I could do just that.] So it was no surprise to me when I found myself practically giving it away. One of the problems was the clay was not cheap. The main reason, however, was that I never saw it as a jewelry business. It was more of a ministry to me… Surrounding myself with people and sharing an illustration of the potter to his clay – The Lord to His precious people. And as you so perfectly stated… “Ministering for free is how it was done by the Lord and the originals.”

    “Thank you RJ!” You have hit yet another post– “wonderfully” out-of-this-bizarro-world!
    [Sorry my comment is so long. Now you know why no one hands me a microphone.]

    Like

    • Thank you, Julie. I appreciate the kind words. I think the things you share here are things on the hearts of us all. Stuff will happen, but it is our reaction that is most important. The Lord warned us. There are times when we can hardly believe how something not so good happened, or why. Based on the bad behavior of others, and of course I’m talking about among Christians, we must know that we do not want to be like that, or cause pain for others.

      It sometimes happens early in our walk, and we learn better behavior as we go, but mostly the best way to react. It is never returning evil for evil. Sometimes it feels impossible to forgive, but we must. We find that we can take a severe hit in whatever form it comes and still survive.

      You have so much love in your heart and sincerity. The Lord is truly with you, appreciates your attitude, and will make a way. But we must all be careful of our associations, and know that just because it may be presented as “Christian,” it is not necessarily something good for us. We must all walk wisely and stay very close to the Lord. He will reveal the path, and will protect us from the enemy. But He will also anoint us for service in the field He has chosen. Keep walking in faith. The answer could be just around the next bend.

      Like

  3. RJ– You know me, better than you know me. 😉 Your God-given insight & wisdom sometimes even leaves me speechless… “Thank you!”

    Like

  4. So much here that rings true. We’ve watched a church we loved for years fall to the lie of “Never question authority; we have to stay current with the culture; we have to do whatever is necessary to attract the youth.” Heartbreaking. Jesus said that if He were lifted up, He would draw all men unto Himself. We just need to lift up Jesus.

    Like

    • It is heartbreaking indeed, Linda. Thanks. Shocking, even, regarding how far some have drifted from the clear teachings of the Lord in deference to contrary beliefs brought in through the neglect and disposal of proper checks and balances.

      Like

Leave a comment